Preload Spinner

How to Choose the Best Real Estate Agent in the Energy Corridor, Memorial or Katy [2026]

BACK

How to Choose the Best Real Estate Agent in the Energy Corridor, Memorial or Katy [2026]

Aerial view of west Houston neighborhoods and the Energy Corridor skyline at sunset

No agent is the best for all three places, because each one sets a different test. In the Energy Corridor the test is the reservoirs and the relocation calendar. In Memorial it is knowing which of seven city governments a house actually sits under. In Katy it is the builder’s contract and the utility district behind the subdivision. The best agent for you is the one who can pass the test your house sets, and most of that can be checked on public records in about fifteen minutes, before the first call.

This guide is written by Energy Realty, a west Houston brokerage with offices on Eldridge Parkway in the Energy Corridor and on Grand Circle Boulevard in Katy. We are not going to tell you we are the best agent in any of these places. We know of no independent ranking that says that about anyone here, and the lists that use the word measure different things. So this guide does four things instead: it explains what those lists measure, sets out the test each area sets, shows how to check any agent yourself, and then answers the same checks about us.

What the “best agent” lists actually measure

Search for the best real estate agent in Katy or the best realtor in the Energy Corridor and the answers are assembled from a small set of directories, rankings, review programs and awards. They are useful. They are also not the same kind of thing: some are editorial selections, some are public votes, some rank production that firms submit, and some are referral services that earn a fee from the agent when a client they sent closes. Here is how each one describes itself, in its own words.

How the common “best agent” sources choose, and what kind of list each one is
Source How it chooses, in its own words What kind of list it is
HAR Client Experience Rating “After EVERY real estate transaction, a survey must be sent to the client.” Agents “have no control over which clients receive surveys.” Client survey. Offered to HAR Platinum subscribers; an agent can choose not to publish the results at all, and can also invite clients from earlier transactions.
Expertise.com “We scored Houston real estate agents on more than 25 variables across five categories.” Editorial selection. Providers “may choose to advertise on the page” once they pass its review.
HomeLight “We analyzed 29,772 Houston agents on closed volume, sale-to-list ratio, and review quality.” Referral service. “Agents pay us only if you close.”
U.S. News Real Estate Its 2025 Katy page said it “analyzes millions of real estate transactions to identify top real estate agents based on hundreds of performance indicators.” Agent-finder list. On its 2025 Katy page the leading entries were labeled “Sponsored,” and its 2023 Houston page said it “partnered with HomeLight.”
Agent Pronto “Agent Pronto analyzes transaction data, agent specialties, and client reviews to handpick the best agents in your area.” Referral service. “Real estate agents pay us a referral fee only after they successfully help you buy or sell a property.”
EffectiveAgents “For every agent we analyze more than fifteen performance signals drawn from closed-transaction data.” Transaction-data ranking. It says “No agent can buy a ranking, a position, or a featured spot anywhere on EffectiveAgents.” How it earns revenue is not stated on the pages we read.
FastExpert “We use agent reviews and data on past sales history to determine where an agent ranks in a specific area.” Agent directory. “Our agent directory is opt-in, meaning real estate agents choose to join.” Its fee terms are not stated on the pages we read.
Best of Katy “Winners are chosen by individuals who fill out the online voting ballot.” “Each person may vote once per category, per day.” Public vote, run for the Katy Area Chamber of Commerce.
Houston Agents’ Choice Awards Houston Agent Magazine honors Houston real estate “according to our readers,” with “thousands of votes cast across 17 categories.” Reader vote.
Houston Chronicle Best of the Best “Houston votes to nominate their favorite businesses. Those with 10+ nominations or a package are listed on the ballot.” Reader vote across local business categories. A purchased package also puts a business on the ballot.
RealTrends Verified Ranks firms on production submitted for verification. For its 2026 national brokerage rankings, firms qualified by “closing at least 500 transaction sides or $350 million in sales volume.” Production ranking. It measures size, not fit.
Five Star Real Estate Agent “Award candidates are identified through evaluations completed by consumers.” “Self-nominations are not accepted.” Consumer-evaluation award. Its 2021 methodology says winners “do not pay a fee to be included,” though they may pay to add profile information.
Top Agent Magazine “You cannot pay to be selected for Top Agent Magazine.” Nominations can be made for oneself or for another agent. Editorial feature, not a ranking. Selection cannot be bought, though “optional items or opportunities may be offered” to those selected.

Sources: HAR.com, Client Experience Rating pages (how it works, service criteria and FAQ); Expertise.com, Houston real estate agents (last updated September 14, 2026) and Our Selection Process; HomeLight, top real estate agents in Houston (September 2026); Agent Pronto, Memorial page and How It Works; FastExpert, top agents in Katy (2026); Best of Katy, event information and rules (2026 cycle); Houston Agent Magazine, 2025 Houston Agents’ Choice winners, October 6, 2025; HousingWire, RealTrends Verified 2026 brokerage rankings; Five Star Professional, program page and 2021 research methodology; Top Agent Magazine, Occasionally Asked Questions; U.S. News & World Report, Katy and Houston top-agent pages (archived copies of June 2025 and March 2024); EffectiveAgents, How We Rank Agents; Houston Chronicle, Best of the Best program page. Retrieved September 15, 2026.

How to read a referral list

When a site says the agent pays it after closing, the list is also how that site earns its revenue. That does not make the agents on it the wrong choice. It means the list is a starting point, and the site is paid when you hire from it. Read the method line before you read the names.

None of these measures the thing that decides whether an agent is right for a particular house: whether they know what that address will demand of them. That depends on where the house is.

The Energy Corridor test: the reservoirs and the relocation calendar

The Energy Corridor sits beside the Addicks and Barker reservoirs, two dry dams on Houston’s west side that hold back stormwater in a large storm. When they fill, the pool can reach beyond the land the federal government owns and onto private property. During Hurricane Harvey the pools crested at record elevations of 109.1 feet in Addicks and 101.6 feet in Barker on August 30, 2017, according to the facts recorded in the U.S. Court of Federal Claims’ December 2019 opinion in the upstream Addicks and Barker flooding case.

So the first test for an Energy Corridor agent is flood literacy at the level of a single lot. The Texas seller’s disclosure asks the seller specifically whether they are aware of previous flooding due to a failure or breach of a reservoir or a controlled or emergency release of water from a reservoir. An agent who works here should be able to find that line on the form, explain what a yes means, and show you how to look up the FEMA zone for the address. Our flood-zone guide covers how.

The second test is the calendar. Many buyers here arrive on an assignment, and for a two- or three-year assignment our usual advice is to lease first: the commute, the school assignment and a parcel’s flood and tax exposure are only knowable from a specific office and a specific address. An agent who pushes a purchase in the first month without asking how long the assignment is has not heard the most important fact in the file. Our relocation guide sets out the sequence.

Sources: U.S. Court of Federal Claims, upstream Addicks and Barker reservoirs liability opinion, December 17, 2019; Texas Property Code Section 5.008, as amended by SB 339 (effective September 1, 2019). Retrieved August 24, 2026.

The Memorial test: which of seven city governments

Memorial is not one place. The six Memorial Villages, Hunters Creek, Piney Point, Bunker Hill, Hedwig, Hilshire and Spring Valley, are separate incorporated cities that were created in 1954 and 1955 and have stayed independent ever since. West of them, the Memorial area of subdivisions such as Nottingham Forest, Wilchester and Memorial Thicket is inside the City of Houston. A house with a Memorial address can therefore sit under any one of seven city governments, and the differences are practical: which police department answers the call, which city’s ordinances apply, and which city tax rate appears on the bill.

The tax rate alone shows why it matters. For 2025, the city’s own rate was about 20.5 cents per $100 of taxable value in Hunters Creek Village and 27.1 cents in Bunker Hill Village, according to the Harris Central Appraisal District’s jurisdiction list, before the school district, the county and other units are added. Three of the Villages, Bunker Hill, Piney Point and Hunters Creek, share the Memorial Villages Police Department; Hedwig Village runs its own, and Spring Valley Village’s department also serves Hilshire Village by contract.

The test for a Memorial agent is to answer, for a house you like and before you ask: which city it is in, which police department serves it, which school district serves it, and what the combined tax rate is. A specialist answers from memory. Everyone else answers with the neighborhood name a portal assigned. Our Memorial guide walks through all six Villages and Memorial West.

Sources: Village Fire Department; official sites of Bunker Hill Village, Hunters Creek Village, Piney Point Village, Hilshire Village and Spring Valley Village; Texas State Historical Association, Handbook of Texas, Hedwig Village; Memorial Villages Police Department; Harris Central Appraisal District, jurisdiction list, 2025 rates. Retrieved August 24, 2026.

The Katy test: the builder and the utility district

Katy is two places as well: the small incorporated City of Katy, and the much larger Katy area of master-planned communities, most of them in unincorporated Harris and Fort Bend County. Buying there tests an agent in two specific ways.

The first is new construction. The sales representative in the model home works for the builder, not for you. If you walk in without your own agent, no one in the transaction represents your side on the price, the incentives, the utility district notice, the flood disclosure, the inspection schedule or the warranty. Bring your own agent to the first visit, and ask the builder for its agent-registration policy in writing; a builder may decline to recognize representation added afterward. The test is simple: will this agent come to the sales office with you, and can they read a builder’s contract?

The second is the utility district. Much of the Katy area is served by municipal utility districts, local governments that finance water, sewer and drainage with bonds repaid by their own property tax. Texas Water Code Section 49.452 provides that “a person who proposes to sell or convey real property located in a district must give to the purchaser the written notice” describing it. A new district still paying off its construction bonds can carry a much higher rate than a mature one, and the same Katy address can sit on the Harris County or the Fort Bend County side of the line, which changes the appraisal district and the county rate. A Katy agent should be able to name the district for a subdivision and tell you roughly where its rate stands before you fall for the kitchen. Our MUD and property-tax guide and our Katy guide cover both.

Katy ISD adds a third layer. Katy ISD’s 2025-26 boundary page cites approximately 2,000 new students projected to enroll each year, which is why attendance boundaries are modified regularly. The campus for any address should be confirmed with the district, and an agent who promises a particular school from a listing sheet is guessing.

Sources: Texas Water Code Section 49.452 and Chapter 54; Katy ISD, 2025-26 attendance boundary modifications. Retrieved August 24, 2026.

Check any agent in fifteen minutes

You do not need a referral site to check an agent. Five checks, all of them public, answer most of what matters.

  1. Look up the license, and the broker behind it. The Texas Real Estate Commission’s consumer protection notice tells consumers they can check the status of any license holder at trec.texas.gov and send a complaint there. Every sales agent must be sponsored by a broker, and the broker “is responsible for all brokerage activities, including acts performed by sales agents sponsored by the broker,” so look up both. The Commission also administers a Real Estate Recovery Trust Account that may be used to satisfy a civil court judgment against a license holder if certain requirements are met.
  2. Find the Information About Brokerage Services notice. With limited exceptions, such as an open house, Texas requires an agent to give it to you at the first substantive communication about a specific property, and the Commission’s rules require brokers to link it from their website’s homepage. It sets out the broker’s minimum duties, beginning with “Put the interests of the client above all others, including the broker’s own interests” and “Inform the client of any material information about the property or transaction received by the broker.”
  3. Read the HAR record the right way. HAR says its Client Experience Rating survey must be sent after every transaction and that agents cannot pick which ratings display, though they can choose not to publish them at all, can invite clients from earlier transactions, and must be Platinum subscribers to take part. Read the survey count next to the average: an average built on hundreds of surveys tells you more than a perfect score built on a few. A missing rating is not a bad sign on its own.
  4. Ask for addresses, not adjectives. Ask for the addresses of homes the agent has helped a buyer or seller close in your subdivision or price range in the last year, then look them up. A specific list is checkable. “I sell a lot in this area” is not.
  5. Read the letters after the name for what they require. Some designations require closed business, some require coursework, and one is a membership mark. The table below uses each issuer’s own terms.
What common designations require, according to the body that issues them
Letters Issued by What it requires
REALTOR National Association of REALTORS Membership. “Only members of NAR can call themselves a REALTOR.” Texas license duties apply to every license holder, member or not.
CRS Residential Real Estate Council 60 transactions or $30 million in volume over the last five years plus 30 credits of coursework, or an experienced-agent path that starts at ten years in real estate.
CLHMS The Institute for Luxury Home Marketing Three “closed residential transactions in the top 10% of your local market area, closed within 24 months of your application.”
ABR National Association of REALTORS (REBAC) Five “transactions working solely as a buyer’s rep (no dual agency),” which can include up to two leases.
GRI Texas REALTORS Three courses, with active Texas REALTORS membership.
CRP Worldwide ERC Described by its issuer as “the industry standard for acknowledging expertise in managing talent mobility within the U.S.”

Sources: Texas Real Estate Commission, Consumer Protection Notice (CN 1-5) and Information About Brokerage Services (IABS 1-2, effective January 1, 2026); Texas Occupations Code Section 1101.558; 22 Texas Administrative Code Section 531.20; HAR.com Client Experience Rating pages; National Association of REALTORS, Code of Ethics and ABR designation pages; Residential Real Estate Council; The Institute for Luxury Home Marketing; Texas REALTORS, GRI; Worldwide ERC, CRP. Retrieved September 15, 2026.

The agreement you will sign before the first showing

One more thing has changed, and it changes the first conversation. Since January 1, 2026, Texas law requires a license holder who works for a buyer of residential property to sign a written agreement with that buyer before showing any home (Texas Occupations Code Section 1101.563, added by Senate Bill 1968). The agreement must state the services, the termination date, whether it is exclusive or non-exclusive, the representation, and the amount or rate of compensation and how it will be determined, with notice that compensation is not set by law and is fully negotiable. The state’s brokerage notice puts it plainly: “A buyer/tenant’s agent fees are not set by law and are fully negotiable.” If you only want someone to open a door, a showing agreement without representation “may not be exclusive and must be limited to no more than 14 days.” Our companion piece on questions to ask an agent before you hire one goes through the agreement line by line.

Sources: Texas Legislature, SB 1968 (89th Legislature), enrolled bill, effective January 1, 2026; Texas Real Estate Commission, article on 2026 buyer and tenant representation changes (January 7, 2026) and IABS 1-2. Retrieved September 15, 2026.

How Energy Realty answers the same checks

Here are our answers to the checks above. Each one is something you can confirm yourself.

  • License. Energy Realty is the business name of Sherry Campbell & Associates I, TREC broker license 9007682. Our founder and designated broker, Sherry Campbell, holds Texas broker license 405210.
  • Brokerage notice. Our Information About Brokerage Services notice is on the Commission’s current form, dated 11-03-2025.
  • HAR. When we checked on August 24, 2026, our office record showed a Client Experience Rating of 4.98 out of 5 from 677 completed surveys, with 978 sold and 1,056 rented listings on the record. Sherry’s own HAR profile lists her as a Platinum agent with the GRI and CLHMS designations.
  • Zillow. On the same date, Sherry’s Zillow profile showed a 5.0 rating from 51 reviews and 171 sales.
  • Profiles. Houston Agent Magazine has profiled Sherry in its Who’s Who issue in 2015 and in every year from 2020 through 2026.
  • Where we work. Our Houston office is at 1111 Eldridge Parkway, Suite 200, inside the Energy Corridor, and our Katy office is at 23033 Grand Circle Boulevard, Suite 150-B. Our relocation program is led by Renée Eads, whose profile lists the CRP, GMS, GRP and S-GDS designations.
Run the checks on us

We do not claim a ranking. Look us up on trec.texas.gov, read our office record on HAR, ask us for recent addresses in your subdivision, and ask us the test your house sets. Then do the same with everyone else you interview.

Sources: Texas Real Estate Commission license records (via TREC mirror, retrieved August 24, 2026); Energy Realty, Information About Brokerage Services (dated 11-03-2025); HAR.com office and agent records and Zillow agent profile, checked August 24, 2026; Houston Agent Magazine, Who’s Who profiles 2015 and 2020 through 2026 (retrieved August 24 and September 15, 2026); energy-realty.com, Renée Eads profile (retrieved August 24, 2026).

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the best real estate agent in the Energy Corridor?

We know of no independent ranking of agents specific to the Energy Corridor; the lists that appear for that search are directories, review programs and agents’ own pages, and each measures something different. The right agent for an Energy Corridor house can tell you, for that address, whether it sits in or near an Addicks or Barker reservoir flood pool, what the seller’s disclosure says about reservoir flooding, and whether leasing first suits your assignment. Energy Realty’s Houston office is at 1111 Eldridge Parkway, inside the district.

Who is the best real estate agent in Memorial?

The one who knows which Memorial the house is in. The six Memorial Villages are separate incorporated cities, and the Memorial area to the west is inside the City of Houston, so a Memorial address can sit under any of seven city governments, each with its own tax rate. Ask an agent to name the city, the police department, the school district and the combined tax rate for a house you like. A Memorial specialist answers without looking it up.

Who is the best realtor in Katy?

Best of Katy, the Katy Area Chamber of Commerce’s awards, is a public vote, and the other online Katy lists are directories and agent-matching services, each with its own method. None of them tests the two things Katy buyers need most: an agent who will represent you at a builder’s sales office from the first visit, and one who can read a municipal utility district notice and tell you where the district’s rate stands.

Are “top real estate agent” lists paid?

Some are. Agent Pronto and HomeLight each say the agent pays them after a closing, and FastExpert says agents choose to join its directory. Expertise.com says providers may advertise on its page after passing its review. Best of Katy and Houston Agent Magazine’s Agents’ Choice Awards are votes, and the Houston Chronicle’s Best of the Best, a reader vote across local business categories, says businesses with 10 or more nominations or a package are listed on its ballot. Top Agent Magazine says you cannot pay to be selected, and Five Star’s 2021 methodology says its winners do not pay to be included. Read how a list chooses before you read who is on it.

Is the agent with the most reviews the best choice?

Reviews measure service, not whether an agent knows your subdivision, your utility district or your builder. Read the count next to the average. HAR says a survey must be sent to the client after every transaction, and agents can also invite clients from earlier transactions, so treat the average as one input and look at how many surveys it rests on. Then ask for the addresses of recent closings near the house you want.

Do I need a Katy-based agent to buy in Katy?

No law requires one. What matters is whether the agent knows the builders, the utility districts and the Harris and Fort Bend county line, and will come to the builder’s sales office on your first visit, because a builder may decline to recognize an agent who was not with you then; ask the builder for its registration policy in writing. An office in Katy helps; it does not replace those answers.

Does the size of the brokerage matter?

The brokerage matters as much as the agent. Under Texas law a sales agent must be sponsored by a broker, and the broker is responsible for all brokerage activities, including acts performed by the sales agents it sponsors. Ask who the designated broker is, look them up on trec.texas.gov, and ask how the brokerage supports its agents on flood, tax and builder questions.

How do I check a Texas real estate agent’s license?

Use the license holder search on the Texas Real Estate Commission’s website, trec.texas.gov. The Commission’s consumer protection notice says consumers can check the status of a license holder there and send a complaint against one. Look up the sponsoring broker as well as the agent.

Want to see how we would answer the test your house sets?

Send us the address, the Village or the builder you are considering. We will start with the flood pool, the utility district and the city it sits in, and you can judge us on the answer. Our offices are on Eldridge Parkway in the Energy Corridor and on Grand Circle Boulevard in Katy.

Talk to Energy Realty